The management of hallux valgus in Nice

Dr Lopez has focused his patient care on those with hallux valgus in Nice his specialty: non-surgical treatments, surgeries, pain management…

Hallux valgus is one of the most common forefoot pathologies. Dr. Julien Lopez chose to specialize in the follow-up, treatment and surgery of hallux valgus to help his patients. Hallux valgus is a deformation of the foot characterized by a deviation towards the outside of the big toe.

A hallux valgus surgeon in Nice who listens to his patients

This hallux valgus surgeon in Nice practices on the French Riviera. Whether you live in Cannes, Grasse, Fréjus or Menton, Dr Julien Lopez will welcome you in one of his offices in Nice, Cap d'Ail or Mandelieu. If you live too far away and you can’t make the trip, Dr. Julien Lopez also offers online consultations. From there, he will be able to tell you the procedure to follow and the possible treatments.

Julien Lopez makes every effort to listen to his patients and make himself available. Do you have a question about the care journey? Would you like more information about the procedure? Simply contact the foot surgeon via the contact form or by phone. He will be happy to answer your questions.

In case of a hallux valgus, it is important to consult a doctor as quickly as possible. Consult a specialist surgeon as soon as a pain appears or if you have discomfort when wearing shoes. Julien Lopez puts the patient and their well-being at the center of his approach. He accompanies the patient from the first visit and throughout the care journey: before, during and after the procedure.

Treatment of the hallux valgus operation in Nice and its surroundings

In case of a hallux valgus operation in Nice and its surroundings, the treatment route is always the same:

The care journey systematically begins with a first consultation during which Dr. Julien Lopez determines the pathology involved and assesses the severity of the deformation.

In order to confirm the diagnosis, several medical imaging exams such as CT, MRI, X-ray and ultrasound can be used.

Depending on the severity of the hallux valgus, the doctor can direct you to a conservative treatment or directly to surgery.

In case of failure of non-surgical treatment, the orthopedic doctor in Nice specialized in hallux valgus carries out a pre-operative consultation with the objective of explaining in detail each step of the care path as well as the procedure of the operation.

During this appointment, the anesthesiologist checks your health and introduces you to several anesthetic techniques. It also informs you about their disadvantages and their advantages. In case of a hallux valgus, the recommended technique is loco-regional anaesthesia.

Foot surgery in case of hallux valgus in Nice is performed as an outpatient. That is, the patient will be able to return to their home during the day after the procedure. Dr Julien Lopez is a specialist in a percutaneous technique, so the hallux valgus surgery will in most cases be a minimally invasive surgery.

Once home, the patient will need to follow a set of rules and advice to promote healing and recovery.

Non-surgical treatments and hallux valgus surgery in Nice

In addition to the hallux valgus operation in Nice, there are several solutions to treat this deformation of the foot. Dr. Julien Lopez will direct you towards the most suitable treatment for your case.

It is important to know that it is impossible to correct a hallux valgus without surgery. However, it will be possible to reduce the progression of the deformation and to decrease the pain.

Non-surgical treatments

The plantar orthosis

A plantar orthosis is a device made by a pedicure-podiatrist. The best is to opt for custom-made orthotics made by hand.

The use of suitable soles will allow you to distribute the pressure by supporting the arch and limiting the overload and pressure at the joint of the big toe.

Although this treatment does not completely correct the issues of the hallux valgus, it will allow the patient to enjoy greater comfort, to limit pain and to practice sports activities without suffering.

There are also serial orthotics, including day orthotics or night orthotics. Dr Julien Lopez will guide you to find out what type of orthotics suits you.

The infiltrations

In case of a hallux valgus, it is also possible to make an infiltration in case of acute bursitis. Infiltrations are not insignificant especially in the presence of a hallux valgus. The prerequisite is an evaluation of deformation and discomfort in consultation.

The surgical procedure

In case of failure of non-surgical treatment, Dr. Julien Lopez will proceed to the surgery of the hallux valgus in Nice.

Its main objective is to optimize the pain management journey.

To do this, he systematically favors the use of the percutaneous technique (or minimally invasive surgery) coupled with locoregional anesthesia.

Minimally invasive surgery differs from conventional open-pit surgery because it allows the surgeon to reach the structures to be operated by small incisions of the order of millimeters. To do this, the orthopedic surgeon in Nice for hallux valgus uses long and thin instruments associated with an x-ray allowing him to have a good visibility.

This type of surgery has many advantages:

  • Reduction in scar size
  • Same-day support authorized
  • Easier pain management
  • Faster return home
  • Optimized recovery
  • Lower risk of complication and infection

Moreover, the use of regional anesthesia greatly optimizes the pain management process and it allows analgesia for the first 6 to 12 hours after the operation. Are you wondering about the hallux valgus operation in Nice and returning to work? Do not hesitate to contact Dr Julien Lopez via the contact form to ask him any questions you have.

Logo Julien Lopez
Logo Julien Lopez

La prise en charge des hallux valgus à Nice

Le Dr Lopez a fait de la prise en charge des hallux valgus à Nice sa spécialité : traitements non chirurgicaux, chirurgies, gestion de la douleur…

L’hallux valgus est l’une des pathologies de l’avant pied les plus répandues. C’est pour soulager ses patients que le Dr Julien Lopez a fait le choix de se spécialiser dans son suivi, ses traitements et sa chirurgie. L’hallux valgus est une déformation du pied caractérisée par une déviation vers l’extérieur du gros orteil.

Un chirurgien des hallux valgus à Nice à l’écoute de ses patients

Ce chirurgien des hallux valgus à Nice exerce sur la Côte d’Azur. Que vous habitiez à Cannes, Grasse, Fréjus ou Menton, le Dr Julien Lopez vous accueillera avec plaisir dans l’un de ses cabinets à Nice, Cap d’Ail ou Mandelieu. Vous habitez trop loin et vous ne pouvez pas faire le déplacement ? Le docteur propose également la téléconsultation. Il pourra ainsi vous indiquer la démarche à suivre et les traitements possibles.

Le Dr Julien Lopez met tout en œuvre pour être à l’écoute de ses patients et se rendre disponible. Vous avez une question concernant le parcours de soin ? Vous souhaitez avoir des informations supplémentaires concernant l’intervention ? Il vous suffit de contacter le chirurgien du pied via le formulaire de contact ou par téléphone. Il se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos interrogations.

En cas d’hallux valgus, il est important de consulter le plus rapidement possible. Consultez un chirurgien spécialisé dès qu’une douleur apparaît ou si vous présentez une gêne au chaussage. Le Dr Julien Lopez met le patient et son bien-être au centre de sa démarche. Il accompagne ainsi le patient à partir de la première visite et tout au long du parcours de soin : avant, pendant et après l’intervention.

Parcours de soins de l’opération des hallux valgus à Nice et ses alentours

En cas d’opération des hallux valgus à Nice et ses alentours, le parcours de soins est toujours le même :

  1. La 1ère consultation

Le parcours de soin commence systématiquement par une première consultation au cours de laquelle le Dr Julien Lopez détermine la pathologie en cause et évalue la gravité de la déformation.

Afin de confirmer le diagnostic, il peut avoir recours à plusieurs examens d’imagerie médicale tels que le scanner, l’IRM, la radiographie et l’échographie.

En fonction de l’importance de l’hallux valgus, le docteur pourra vous diriger vers un traitement conservateur ou directement vers la chirurgie.

En cas d’échec du traitement non chirurgical, le Dr orthopédiste à Nice des hallux valgus réalise une consultation pré opératoire ayant pour objectif d’expliquer en détails chaque étape du parcours de soins ainsi que le déroulé de l’opération.

Au cours de ce rendez-vous, l’anesthésiste-réanimateur vérifie votre état de santé et vous présente plusieurs techniques d’anesthésie. Il vous informe également sur leur déroulé, leurs inconvénients et leurs avantages. En cas d’hallux valgus, la technique recommandée est l’anesthésie loco-régionale.

La chirurgie du pied en cas d’hallux valgus à Nice se réalise en ambulatoire. C’est-à-dire que le patient pourra rentrer à son domicile dans la journée. Le Dr Julien Lopez est un spécialiste de la technique percutanée, l’opération de l’hallux valgus sera donc dans la plupart des cas une chirurgie mini-invasive.

Une fois rentré chez lui, le patient devra suivre un ensemble de règles et de conseils afin de favoriser la cicatrisation et un bon rétablissement.

Traitements non chirurgicaux et opération de l’hallux valgus à Nice

En plus de l’opération de l’hallux valgus à Nice, il existe plusieurs solutions pour traiter cette déformation du pied. Le Dr Julien Lopez vous dirigera vers le traitement le plus adapté à votre cas.

Il est important de savoir qu’il est impossible de corriger un hallux valgus sans chirurgie. Il sera cependant possible de réduire la progression de la déformation et de diminuer la douleur.

Les traitements non chirurgicaux

L’orthèse plantaire

L’orthèse plantaire est un appareillage réalisé par un pédicure-podologue. Le mieux est d’opter pour des orthèses moulées sur-mesure et faites à la main.

Le port de semelles adaptées va permettre de répartir les appuis en supportant davantage la voûte plantaire et en limitant la surcharge et la pression au niveau de l’articulation du gros orteil.

Bien que ce traitement ne permette pas de venir totalement à bout de l’hallux valgus, il va permettre au patient de bénéficier d’un plus grand confort, de limiter la douleur et de pratiquer des activités sportives sans souffrir.

Il existe aussi les orthèses de série, on retrouve notamment des orthèses de jour ou des orthèses de nuit. Le Dr Julien Lopez saura vous guider pour savoir quel type d’orthèses vous convient.

Les infiltrations

En cas d’hallux valgus, il est également possible de réaliser une infiltration en cas de bursite aigue. Les infiltrations ne sont pas anodines en particulier en présence d’un hallux valgus. Le prérequis est une évaluation de la déformation et de la gêne en consultation.

L’intervention chirurgicale

En cas d’échec du traitement non chirurgical, le Dr Julien Lopez procèdera à la chirurgie de l’hallux valgus à Nice.

Son principal objectif est d’optimiser le parcours de gestion de la douleur.

Pour ce faire, il privilégie systématiquement l’utilisation de la technique percutanée (ou chirurgie mini-invasive) couplée à une anesthésie réalisée en loco-régionale.

La chirurgie mini-invasive se différencie de la chirurgie classique à ciel ouvert puisqu’elle permet au chirurgien d’atteindre les structures à opérer par de petites incisions de l’ordre du millimètres. Pour ce faire, le chirurgien orthopédiste à Nice pour hallux valgus utilise des instruments longs et fins associés à une radiographie lui permettant d’avoir une bonne visibilité.

Ce type de chirurgie présente un grand nombre d’avantages :

  • La réduction de la taille des cicatrices
  • Un appui autorisé le jour même
  • Une gestion de la douleur facilitée
  • Un retour au domicile plus rapide
  • Un rétablissement optimisé
  • Un risque moins élevé de complication et d’infection

Qui plus est, l’utilisation de l’anesthésie locorégionale permet fortement d’optimiser le processus de gestion de la douleur. En effet, elle permet une analgésie durant les 6 à 12 premières heures suivant l’opération. Vous vous posez des questions concernant l’opération des hallux valgus à Nice et la reprise du travail ? N’hésitez pas à contacter le Dr Julien Lopez via le formulaire de contact afin de lui poser toutes vos questions.